He amassed a majority of his wealth as a film director, playwright, and screenwriter. I'm a media agent working with a boutique list of exclusively under-represented writers and directors across theatre, film, radio, and television. Assisted by a network of former SS members, he used the ratline to travel to Genoa, where he obtained a passport from the International Committee of the Red Cross under the alias "Helmut Gregor", and sailed to Argentina in July 1949. Our newsletter keeps our core readers connected. Anthony Minghella - Wikipedia He suffered a stroke in 1976,[104] experienced high blood pressure, and developed an ear infection which affected his balance. If you asked them who the worst and most brutal person during the Holocaust was, many would say it was Josef Mengele, the "Angel of Death" who conducted ghastly and horrifying experiments on live subjects, most of them children. In 1979, while Nazi hunters were combing the globe looking to arrest him, Mengele drowned after suffering a stroke while swimming of Brazils coast. [113] Worldwide interest in the case was heightened by a mock trial held in Jerusalem in February 1985, featuring the testimonies of over one hundred victims of Mengele's experiments. For the next 10 years, backed by Eshkol and his successors as prime minister, Golda Meir and Yitzhak Rabin, almost nothing was done about Mengele. During the 1980s, he worked in television, starting as a runner on Magpie before moving into script editing the children's drama series Grange Hill for the BBC and later writing The Storyteller series for Jim Henson. [22] [4][5] He was one of five children, his sisters Gioia Minghella-Giddens, Edana Minghella and Loretta Minghella, and a brother Dominic Minghella who would also become a screenwriter and producer. [1] His parents were Edoardo Minghella (an Italian immigrant) and Leeds-born Gloria Alberta (ne Arcari). Anthony Minghella - Oral Cancer Foundation If you asked them who the worst and most brutal person